Life is all about seating and lighting. – Graydon Carter

Welcome to my man-cave!
Creating the perfect lighting for your room can be overwhelming, but a good research and a little bit of imagination can do the trick. Recently, I felt as if it was the right time to renovate and upgrade my special room with the newest technology available out there. I got myself four TV sets, bough a 7.1 surround system, a Play Station 4, so there is only one thing left to do – choose and buy LED downlights from the various models and types with one purpose in mind – create the atmosphere that guys will find cool and ladies sublime.

Now, fasten your seatbelt for my mighty confession: I am an ultra Star Trek fan! Some of my friends compare me with Sheldon, others with Leonard – oh well, at least they both have girlfriends and I am also not falling behind. Those futuristic LED lights from the spaceship Enterprise are my nerdy dream (not a big surprise). Now the most important question arises: How many LED downlights Per Room is just right? Here is a simple guide to finding the perfect amount of lumen power and the type of LED downlights that is most compatible with for your room.

led downlights

How much light do you need in your room?
A lot of people confuse the meaning of watts and lumens. This is because in the past when we used light bolts the power of the light was determined on the basis of how much watts the bolt has. The higher the number, the more light, but with led light it is different. When you are out shopping and you are about to buy LED downlights, in order to get one that will provide you with more light you need to read the specifications and choose the one with greater lumen output.

For instance, in my room I went with four led downlights and on the edges I put LED lights with special effect, to make my room feel like the command deck of the Enterprise.
The problem is, when it comes to creating a pleasant daily atmosphere, it is all a matter of taste: some like it bright, some like it dark. I did my research and spoke to retailer experts (so that you don’t have to) and here’s what they say you should do:

As with anything else in life, less is more, especially when quality is what you adore! Therefore, getting a few LED lights with many features and stronger lumen output is a far better investment than getting too many that you will have to replace too soon due to lack of quality and power. Of course, it all depends on the size of your room: what is too much for some may be not enough for others.

Leave a Reply

